United States of America, Louisiana, Ouachita Parish, Monroe
Nosegay Garden (Monroe, Louisiana)
Nosegay is generally a shaded yard with oaks, crape myrtles, magnolia, camellia, ginkgo, and poplar trees dating back to the original house. The present house was erected in 1959 on the site of the original house built in the 1930s. The west side is bordered by serpentine beds of azalea, dogwood, and spirea backed by a 10-foot evergreen hedge of ligustrum. Across the back are two small buildings centered by a reflection pool and brick wall. On the west side of these buildings, extending into the yard, is a formal parterre of Japanese boxwoods with an alleyway of mondo grass leading to a Florentine stature flanked by two tree size camellias. The parterres on each side are filled with oriental jasmine. The gaslights in the area, along with one of the outbuildings, were moved to the property in the 1930s and date back to about 1910. The present owners added a cutting garden and greenhouse, and a statue area.
Person's associated with the garden include: Governor and Mrs. James A. Noe (former owners, 1930s-1981); Paul F. Stewart LTD (architect, 1959); and Dr. Neil G. Odenwald (consultant and Professor of Landscape Architecture Louisiana State University, 1998).
Archives of American Gardens encourages the use of its archival materials for non-commercial, educational and personal use under the fair use provision of U.S. copyright law. Use or copyright restrictions may exist. It is incumbent upon the researcher to ascertain copyright status and assume responsibility for usage. All requests for duplication and use must be submitted in writing and approved by Archives of American Gardens.
The folder includes a worksheet, plans, and a plant list.
Smithsonian Gardens, PO Box 37012, Capital Gallery, Suite 3300, MRC 506, Washington, DC 20013-7012