Niagara Falls International Bridge Company and Niagara Falls Suspension Bridge Company
History of Technology, Division of, NMAH, SI
Mechanical and Civil Engineering, Division of [former name], NMAH, SI
Work and Industry, Division of, NMAH, SI
Roebling, John Augustus 1806-1869
Buck, Leffert L
Burrows, George L
Niagara Falls International Bridge Company
Niagara Falls Arch Bridge Commission
8 cu. ft. : 22 boxes and 1 oversize folder
Ledgers (account books)
New York (N.Y.)
Niagara Falls (N.Y. and Ont.)
The Niagara Falls International Bridge Company and Niagara Falls Suspension Bridge Company were created in 1846 to jointly manage a series of bridges connecting the U.S. and Canada over the Niagara Gorge. The first bridge was constructed in 1849 but has been replaced by three others, each stronger than the previous. The final bridge constructed is the Lower Arch Bridge (1897), which is still in use but has been renamed the Whirlpool Rapids Bridge. George L. Burrows (1836-1921) was president of the Niagara Falls International Bridge Company from 1885 to his death, and was supported by Superintendent Thomas Reynolds for the majority of his tenure. Two prominent engineers, John A. Roebling and Leffert L. Buck, designed and managed construction of the bridges. The Niagara Falls Bridge Commission was created in 1938. It bought the Whirlpool Rapids Bridge in 1959. The Board of Commissioners oversees the management of the Whirlpool Rapids, Rainbow, and Lewiston-Queenston Bridges.
Paper-based documents, created 1848-1946 (but with the majority created 1890-1929), that relate to the business affairs of the Niagara Falls International Bridge Company and the Niagara Falls Suspension Bridge Company. It includes company governance materials, 1848-1926; bridge construction and maintenance documents, 1851-1946; general correspondence, 1885-1946; financial records, 1848-1941; and miscellaneous published materials, 1892-1920s.
The 2014 addendum : four volumes of letterpress correspondence copybooks, 1855-1897 and 1901-1915. The volumes record all outgoing correspondence of the superintendents of the company during this period: a Mr. Fisher (1855-1856), William G. Swan (1856-1893), and Thomas Reynolds (1893-1915).
Niagara Falls Bridge Commission Records, Archives Center, National Museum of American History