This 12-acre property's garden, subdivided from a 54-acre farm, reflects the simplicity and purity of the restored farmhouse that it surrounds. Although the site's history can be traced to the 18th century, the current owners, one of whom is a landscape architect, have been the first to truly develop the gardens around the house. Vegetable, fruit, and flower gardens are accented by a decades-old grape arbor, ponds, and surrounding fields and woodlands. Naturalized daffodils and pansies in spring yield to roses and a variety of annuals and perennials in summer. An adjacent buffer of parkland ensures the intact, long-term survival of the property. The intent is to enjoy a contemporary garden as an appropriate setting for the ca. 1812 stone farmhouse and outbuildings.
Persons associated with the property include: Samuel Wilson (former owner, ca. 1730); Stephen Wilson (former owner, 1787-1819); Samuel Wilson (former owner, 1819-1825); Frank Schmitt (former owner, ca. 1911); Eleanor Witmer (former owner, 1935-1990); Louise Bull (former owner, 1935-1990); American Friends Service Committee (former owners, 1990-1993); and Derik Sutphin (landscape architect, 1993-present).
The folders includes a worksheets, site plans, and a photocopy of part of an article about the house and garden.
Garden has been featured in Beth S. Buxbaum, "Tales of a Buckingham Farmhouse," Bucks County Town & Country Living, Spring 2001, pp. 74-83+