United States of America, Connecticut, Fairfield County, Greenwich
Three Oaks (Greenwich, Connecticut)
Established in the 1930s, this 11-acre garden was originally designed by noted landscape architect Marian Cruger Coffin. There are many established plantings on the property, which once comprised 43 acres. There are several very large copper beech trees, two apple orchards, a walled rose garden, and a small rock garden with a small pool. The terracing in the rear of the house and the courtyard in the front were redone in 1998. Walls and another courtyard to the left of the garages were also added in that year.
Persons and firms associated with the garden include: Robert Peckham Noble and estate (former owner, 1929-1975); John McAtee (former owner, 1975-?); Claudio Staub (former owner); Bruce Failing (former owner, 1993-1997); Marian Cruger Coffin (landscape architect, 1930s); Phelps Barnum (architect, 1930s); Susan Cohen (landscape designer, early 1990s); Peter Cummins (landscape architect, 1998 to date); Dan Taylor (landscape designer, 1998 to date); Donald Comes (gardener, 1997 to date); D'Andrea Nursery (nurserymen, late 1980s); Fairfax & Sammons (architects, 1997 to date); and Rosedale Nursery (nurserymen, 1998 to date).
The folders include worksheets, abbreviated site plans, and a photocopy of a book excerpt about the house and garden.
Garden has been featured in The Junior League of Greenwich, The Great Estates: Greenwich, Connecticut 1880-1930 (Canaan, New Hampshire: Phoenix Publishing, 1986), pp. 94-97