United States of America, New York, Nassau County, Jericho
1999 - 2000
Kirby Hill had its formation at the beginning of the twentieth century. The colonial revival movement reflected some of its early structures. The pool house with its slate roof is a copy of the octagonal Georgian arsenal at Williamsburg. The columns near the pool and pool house came from the Sampson Building on Wall Street (now demolished), which was owned by a direct ancestor of the present owners. The fruit tree orchard below the house was among the original plantings when the house was built.
Persons and firms associated with the garden include: Joseph Sampson Stevens (former owner, 1902 - 1935); Byam Kerby Stevens (former occupant and co-trustee, 1935 - 1940); Warren and Wetmore (architects, ca. 1900-1902); Umberto Innocenti (landscape architect, ? - 1940); Innocenti and Webel (landscape architects, 1952 - present); Donald K. Pollitt (landscape architect, 1952 - present); David H. Engel (landscape architect, 1990); Landgarden (landscape architects, 1999 - present); Henry Otis Chapman (architect, 1935 - 1937); and John A. Dunning (architect, 1967).
The folder includes a worksheet, maps of slide locations, two photographic color prints, and garden plans.
Access to original images by appointment only. Researcher must submit request for appointment in writing. Certain items may be restricted and not available to researchers. Please direct reference inquiries to the Archives of American Gardens: firstname.lastname@example.org