Agriculture and Natural Resources, Division of (NMAH, SI)
Work and Industry, Division of, NMAH, SI
4.75 cu. ft. : 15 boxes
Anthracite coal company. First existed under the name Sharpe, Leisenring and Company in 1854. The partners had been associated with the Lehigh Coal and Navigation Company. When Leisenring left in 1860, the company became Sharpe, Weiss and Company, which it remained until 1874. Leisenring took over again in 1875 and the company became John Leisenring and Company. Presumably, the company was taken over by an H.C. Miller at some later time, because the papers from the 1880s are addressed to him.
Invoices and letters from merchants and manufacturers with whom Sharpe, Weiss and Company, and their successors, did business; and two reels of microfilm of Sharpe and Weiss's account books.
Sharpe, Weiss and Company Papers, 1856-1889, Archives Center, National Museum of American History