This garden existed from 1991 to 2000, when its owners moved to a new location. A small, charming, l-shaped city garden of 3,000 square feet, it was divided into three "rooms" by hedges, house walls, and gates. It was completely filled with a wealth of plant material, antique pots and urns, architectural fragments, and three fountains. The plantings were "city hardy," and featured magnolia, azalea, ivy, hosta, hydrangea, dogwood, hornbeam, yew, and boxwood. The house, in the "Old Soulard" district, was built in 1870, and the carriage house, formerly a blacksmith's shop, in 1840.
Persons associated with the garden include: Joseph J. Laurinski (former owner, 1991-2000) and Dennis H. Johns (former owner, 1991-2000).
The folder includes a worksheet, a garden plan, and a photocopy of a newspaper magazine section cover depicting the garden.
Garden has been featured in the St. Louis Post-Dispatch (St. Louis Lifestyle magazine), May 23, 1998