United States of America, New York, Nassau County, Mill Neck
Mill Neck Manor (Mill Neck, New York)
Established around 1923, this 86-acre site, formerly a private estate, is now a school for the deaf. The gardens, which feature mature trees, terraces, and a gazebo, complement the Tudor-style mansion. Planted urns and broad, sweeping vistas complete the design.
Persons and firms associated with the garden include: Mr. and Mrs. Theodore Weicker (former owners, before 1940); Mr. and Mrs. Robert C. Dodge (former owners, 1950s); and Clinton, Russell, Wells, Holton & George (architects, ca. 1923).
The folder includes a worksheet, a summary property plan, six black and white images of the garden from about 1950, and a photocopy of an April 2000 newspaper article about plans for expansion of the school.