United States of America, Rhode Island, Newport County, Newport
Beacon Ridge South (Newport, Rhode Island)
This four-acre garden is the north section of the extensive rose garden of Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Curtiss James laid out on Beacon Hill between granite ridges beginning in 1921. The original, larger James estate was subdivided in the late 20th century. After 1981 the current owner restored many architectural features, including masonry pillars, walls, steps, and balustrades, some ironwork, and the pergola beams. Missing garden ornaments were replaced. The formality of the axial features has been retained, and new plantings of hybrid roses and climbers around these are in the spirit of the original lavish rose garden. Horticultural interest and variety are given by informal plantings at the edge of the lawns and on the rocks.
Persons, organizations, and firms associated with the garden include: Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Curtiss James (former owners, 1910-1941); the James Foundation of New York (former owner, 1942-1951); the Roman Catholic Diocese of Rhode Island (former owner, 1951-1973); Brainerd Snelling Trustees and the James Trust (former owners, 1973-1978); Castle Hill Construction (Tom Cullen) (former owner, 1978-1981); and Olmsted Brothers Landscape Architects (landscape architects, 1921-).
The folder includes a worksheet, a property plan, and additional information about the Olmsted design and the restoration of the garden.