United States of America, Connecticut, Fairfield County, Greenwich
Morning Glory (Greenwich, Connecticut)
Although ownership of this site can be traced to the 18th century, garden development of the current three-acre property dates only to the mid-1940s, with extensive work done by the current owners after 1976. The garden consists of informal planted beds and a terrace surrounding the house, leading to lawns followed by wetlands which lead to woodlands, all bounded by 18th-century stone walls. A water garden with aquatic and bog plants and koi was dug and built by the current owner. It is lined with rocks found on the property. Raised beds are planted with annuals grown from seed and is a combination of old favorites and new "trial" genera. A shade garden flourishes under the shade of old maples, some of them 200 years old.
Persons associated with the garden include: Major Brown (former owner, 1797); Michael Clark (former owner, 1859-1868); Patrick Reynolds (former owner, 1868-1914); John L. Doubleday (former owner, 1914-1917); Thomas F. Cole (former owner, 1917-1920); Coulter D. Huyler (former owner, 1920-1946); George B. Whitmore, Jr. (former owner, 1946-1948); Hope Tyson Ward (former owner, 1948-1952); Jean Marie Van Waverson (former owner, 1952-1954); Peter P. and Rosamond C. Wiley (former owners, 1954-1963); Allen and Ruth Cameron (former owners, 1963-1972); Peter Austin-Small (former owner, 1972-1976); Susan Cohen (landscape designer, 1986); and Peter Orszalak (arborist, 1996-2000).
The folder includes a worksheet and garden plan.
Garden has been featured in Greenwich Time, 1986
Garden has been featured in Greenwich Magazine, Spring 2001