United States of America, Massachusetts, Norfolk County, Westwood
Perkins Garden (Westwood, Massachusetts)
This site, which totals 16 acres, has been the home of the Perkins family since 1930. The house, however, was built in 1815, and the stone-walled path through the meadow is the last cow lane or cow path in Westwood. Set behind the house are perennial gardens designed by Elizabeth Greenleaf Pattee and Constance E. Peters in 1931 and bordered with boxwood taken from the Adams House in Quincy. An espaliered yew covers a wall on the back of the house, while lilacs separate the perennial garden from the less formal vegetable, herb, and cutting gardens near the kitchen. A compost area is conveniently located nearby. The dominant color of the garden changes throughout the seasons owing to the careful choice of perennials and the addition of annuals. Fences separate and define the maintained areas near the house from the old apple and pear orchard and fields beyond. The garden received a Massachusetts Horticultural Society Gold Medal in 1967.
Persons associated with the garden include: Major and Mrs. Eaton Whiting (former owners, before 1881); J. E. Whiting (former owner); Anna M. Colburn (former owner); Marcus L. Haye (former owner, 1881-1930); James H. Perkins, II (former owner, 1930-1980); Elizabeth Greenleaf Pattee (landscape architect, 1931); and Constance E. Peters (landscape architect, 1931).
The folder includes a worksheet, a photocopy of the 1931 Pattee-Peters landscape design, and photocopies of descriptions of the garden from garden tour programs.