United States of America, New York, Rockland County, Orangetown, Palisades
Seven Oaks (Palisades, New York)
Situated along the Hudson River, Seven Oaks was originally developed as a 25-acre estate in the 19th century. Historically the grounds have featured open fields and dense, wooded areas, as well as numerous gardens. Although about 10 wooded acres were subdivided by the early 1990s, the Gothic Revival estate house, built in 1862, remains, as well as several Gothic Revival outbuildings and a more modern machine shop. In the 20th century a long greenhouse was added to the coachman's residence, but the core property remains essentially unaltered. Originally owned by the Park family, the estate passed in 1911 into the possession of Seth Fox, a New York City merchant. The Fox family used Seven Oaks as a summer place until the early 1920s, when they made it their year-round residence. The Fox family was also responsible for developing Seven Oaks' gardens, which are documented in this collection.
Persons associated with the garden include: Charles F. Park (former owner, ca. 1860-1911); Seth Fox (former owner, 1911-?); and Arthur Woodward Fox and Ada Augusta Treadwell Fox (former owners).
The folder includes several worksheets and a detailed history/description of the property prepared for the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation & Historic Preservation.