United States of America, Connecticut, Fairfield County, Stamford
Marion Castle (Stamford, Connecticut)
This 1.7-acre garden site was established in 1915. The grounds of Marion Castle, the home constructed by motion picture pioneer Frank J. Marion, originally included five acres, but the portion located directly on Long Island Sound has since been subdivided. The original garden design by Wadley & Smythe was typical of a grand house and included allées, perennial borders, an orchard, a vegetable garden, and a tennis court. A terrace running the width of the property below the house was laid out as a parterre of flower beds. Unfortunately, only some of the trees, walls, and paths still exist. The property is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Persons associated with the garden include: Frank J. and Florence H. Marion (former owners, 1915-1963); David and Martha Cogan (former owners, 1963-1978); Gordon Micunis and Jay Kobrin (former owners, 1978-1998); Joseph Howland Hunt (architect, 1915); Hunt & Hunt (architects, 1915); and Wadley & Smythe (landscape architects, 1915).
The folder includes a worksheet, a diagram of the 1999 garden layout, a copy of the original 1915 design, photocopies of articles about the site, and a photocopied color enlargement of a postcard depicting the site, ca. 1915.
Garden has been featured in De Witt H. Fessenden, "Three Connecticut Country Houses," The Architectural Record, Vol. XL, No. 5 (November 1916), pp. 403-418
Garden has been featured in Marion Castle: History Preserved (Stamford: Stamford Historical Society, 1985)