United States of America, Connecticut, Litchfield County, Sharon
Cobble Pond Farm (Sharon, Connecticut)
Cobble Pond Farm comprises 250 acres with meadows, wetlands, a 22-acre pond that was lined with granite blocks, or cobbles, from an abandoned castle, a sunken garden, a formal Italianate secret garden, long herbaceous perennial borders, a sugar maple and dogwood allée, a cutting and vegetable garden, and farm animals including Aberdeen Angus cows and rescued horses, donkeys and llamas. The original garden was designed beginning circa 1930 by landscape architects Percival Gallagher and Edward Clark Whiting from the Olmsted Brothers firm. The Olmsted plan blends the formality of a European garden with the bucolic landscape of the surrounding areas. Within the formal areas there are broad lawns, stone footpaths and low stone walls defining the garden rooms.
Although the garden was severely overgrown in some places and unplanted in others the current owners discovered old plans and researched the original garden before commencing to recreate it. The formal garden rooms were planted in a more contemporary style with perennials and shrubs rather than the bedding annuals from the original plans, and the old flagstone walkways were replaced with bluestone. The Italianate garden is centered with a fountain and divided into four quadrants with hedges of clipped yew. Nearby stands an apple orchard and a pergola planted with wisteria and climbing hydrangeas. The sunken garden is anchored at one end by a one-hundred year old copper beech and contains two topiary lilacs, clematis, hydrangeas, and climbing roses. In spring the cutting garden's rectangular beds are filled with the bright colors of daffodils and tulips while the summer brings on more muted colors, featuring sambucus black lace and a weeping katsura tree.
Outbuildings include a garden hospital for plants needing attention. The surrounding woodlands were the source for the mature sugar maples in the allée, and saplings are still being transplanted to the formal garden areas. The summer house built in the 1920s was named Tintern Abbey after the poem by William Wordsworth.
Persons associated with the property include: James Punnett (former owner, ca. 1905); the Schwab Family (former owners, 1905-1921); Harold A. and Margaret Milliken Hatch (former owner, 1921-1981); James T. and Kathleen M. Metz (former owners, 1981-1986); Kathleen M. Metz (former owner, 1986-1992); Huntington and Kildare, Inc. (former owners, 1992 - 2002); Olmsted Brothers (landscape architects, 1929-1950); Fred McGourty (horticulturist,1984 - 2003); Marsha Kaufman (horticulturist, 2001 to date); Harold A. Hoyt (landscape gardener, 1983); Agnes K. Dzenutis (landscape designer and gardener, 1984-1999); Dave Enos (gardener and greenskeeper, 1995); Heathcote M. Woolsey (architect, 1946); David Colbert (sculptor, 1999).
The folder includes a worksheet and abbreviated garden plan.