United States of America, California, San Mateo County, Woodside
Mountain Meadow (Woodside, California)
This site on the peninsula south of San Francisco was originally developed in the late 1920s. John McLaren, creator of Golden Gate Park, is said to have advised the owners at that time to preserve the redwoods on the property; fortunately his advice was heeded. In 1937 the property changed hands and acquired its present name. The new owners, Mr. and Mrs. Herman Phleger, maintained it largely as originally planned, but commissioned additional work by Thomas Church. They also purchased additional land, bringing the estate's total size to 1,400 acres. Upon the death of Mrs. Phleger in 1991 the estate was purchased by the Peninsula Open Space Trust (POST), except for 50 acres and two houses which remain under private ownership.
The garden documented here is essentially a country garden, but with an air of elegance. Spring and summer borders are located on different levels and there are a separate rose garden, an apple orchard, and a pristine redwood grove. The garden and its beautiful setting in the coast range fully complement one another.
Persons associated with the property include: Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Eastman (former owners, 1928-1937); Mr. and Mrs. Herman Phleger (former owners, 1937-1991); Gardner A. Dailey (architect, 1928); Bruce Porter (landscape designer, 1928); John McLaren (landscape architect and park administrator, 1928); Thomas Church (landscape architect); Thomas Daggett (groundskeeper and horticulturist); and Dianne Schilling (photographer).
The folder includes two worksheets, copies of the garden plan, a brief narrative history of the property, and a bibliography relating to the history of the area in which the site is located. The garden is noted for its integration of country and formal design elements into the spectacular natural setting of a redwood forest.