Rotch-Jones-Duff House and Garden Museum 1930-1998
Rotch, William, Jr.
Jones, Edward Coffin
Jones, Amelia Hickling
Waterfront Historic Area League
Coolidge, John Mrs.
1 folder+ 1 lantern slide; 13 35 mm. slides
Mixed archival materials
United States of America, Massachusetts, Bristol County, New Bedford
Rotch-Jones-Duff House and Garden Museum (New Bedford, Massachusetts)
Named for several previous owners, the Rotch-Jones-Duff House and Garden Museum incorporates a Greek Revival style house designed in 1834 by architect Richard Upjohn with a garden encompassing a city block. Original owner William Rotch, Jr., a whaling entrepreneur and civic leader, would become the father-in-law of James Arnold, benefactor of the Arnold Arboretum. The current garden largely reflects the Jones family's period of stewardship (1851-1935) and includes a formal boxwood rose parterre, a gazebo-like pergola, a formal cutting garden, and an award winning woodland/wildflower walk. Significant changes were also made by Boston landscape architect Mrs. John Coolidge during the Duff family's residence. Founded in 1983, the museum is a partner in the New Bedford Whaling Museum National Historical Park.
Persons and organizations associated with the property include: William Rotch, Jr. (former owner, 1834-1851); Edward Coffin Jones and his daughter Amelia Hickling Jones (former owners, 1851-1935); Mark and Beatrice Duff (former owners, 1935-1981); the Waterfront Historic Area League (WHALE) (former owner, 1981-1985); Richard Upjohn (architect, 1834); William Howard (gardener, 1847-1890); Mrs. John Coolidge (landscape architect, 1937); and Sue Underwood (architect of cutting garden,1994).