1 folder+ 12 35 mm. slides and 9 color photoprints
Mixed archival materials
United States of America, California, San Francisco County, San Francisco
Lampen Garden (San Francisco, Calif.)
"A north garden-with brick wall (1889) on north end. Includes a collection of topiary and bonsai. Whimsical in mood with a "tooth fairy house" with an arch in boxwood hedge and small path leading to it. Mosaic design of squirrels over potting bench. On north end of house (southern end of garden - a mural extending the garden includes San Francisco views. She grows lily of the valley, cymbidiums in the ground, clivia, a lemon, orange and noisette roses."
"A handsome brick wall, put up in 1889, held back one small portion of one of San Francisco's many hills to make the garden possible. Facing north, the garden has evolved for us over the last 42 years."
"The seasonal changes are always amazing. The beauty begins in early spring with camellias, then the wisteria begins (over the tooth-fairy house), plus the rhododendron and roses. When they are done the jasmine begins, behind the fountain. The agapanthus makes a prolific border on both sides of the fountain and the roses come back for a second time."
"Only the wall of the house was a problem. We could never grow anything on it as the sun never quite reached it, but now with the final touch of our mural as a definated extention of our garden, we are complete."
Persons associated with the property include: Mr. D. H. McGraw (former owner from 1889 to 1900); L. Palmer (former owner from 1900 to 1909); Weidenmuller (former owner from 1909 to 1921; 1931 to 1933 and 1939 to 1941); J. D. Richards (former owner from 1922 to 1944); J. Denny (former owner from 1944 to 1954); and Bems (former owner from 1954 to 1956).Lampen (owner); Rognier (sculptor in 1962); Michael Lampen, Jr. (artist of mural in 1996); and Phoebe Gilpin (photographer).
The folder includes slide list, garden description, newspaper article, notecard with a line drawing of the house and an information sheet.
Garden has been featured in Boutique and Villager Newspaper, May 16, 1998. See article about Captain Frederick William Macondray