Smithsonian Institution

Search Results

Collections Search Center
1 documents - page 1 of 1

Porter Fleming House 1950-1997

Former owner:
Fleming, Porter
Saunders, Albert
Medical College of Georgia
Elms, Jay
Elms, Christine M
Architect:
Irvin, Willis
Photographer:
Mackie, Katharine
Architects:
Cheatham, Fletcher, Scott & Sears
Physical description:
1 folder+ 14 35 mm. slides + 1 photoprint, b&w
Type:
Mixed archival materials
Place:
United States of America, Georgia, Richmond County, Augusta
Georgia
Augusta
Porter Fleming House (Augusta, Ga.)
Date:
1950
1950-1997
Notes:
"Part of the large half block was bought at a Sheriff's sale in 1908 by Joseph R. Lamar, the only Chief Justice of the U. S. Supreme Court from Georgia. Porter Fleming bought part of this tract to build his home in 1911 and the community, Summerville, became part of Augusta in 1919. The Berry Flemings, the builder's son, lived here in the 1940's. Dr. Albert Saunders bought it in 1952 and the Medical College of Georgia owned it from 1970 to 1978."
"The brick wall in front has been extended to include three hand forged iron gates, which enhance the beauty and security of the property. A raised terrace has been added in front of the main entrance. It is planted with a mass of small boxwoods with weeping crabapples as accents. The spacious driveway has been paved with concrete tinted the same color of the house, kept authentic by maintaining the original house paint."
"The pool area in the side yard is screened by a row of Mary Nell Hollies along the drive. Privacy from the next door neighbors is achieved by a man-made berm covered with Cryptomeria which will eventually block the view of (and from) the next house."
"The patio/courtyard area behind the house is raised to the level of the rooms opening onto it. It has been restored according to original drawings with the addition of pediments and stone features from the old Georgia Railroad Bank, which was demolished. A stone balustrade was imported from England. The columns support climbing hydrangeas."
Persons associated with the property include: Porter Fleming (former owner fron 1911 to 1952); Albert Saunders (former owner from 1952 to 1970); Medical College of Georgia (former owner from 1970 to 1978); Jay and Christine M. Elms (former owner from 1978 to 1995); Willis Irvin (architect in 1911); Cheatham, Fletcher, Scott & Sears (architects); Katharine Mackie (researcher and photographer).
Summary:
The folder includes garden description, plan view, and worksheet done by GCA researcher Katharine Mackie.
Topic:
Gardens
Local number:
GA163000
Data Source:
Archives of American Gardens

Modify Your Search






or


Narrow By
  • Archival materials
  • Gardens
  • Cheatham, Fletcher, Scott & Sears
  • Elms, Christine M
  • Elms, Jay
  • Fleming, Porter
  • Irvin, Willis
  • Mackie, Katharine
  • Medical College of Georgia
  • Saunders, Albert
  • Cheatham, Fletcher, Scott & Sears
  • Elms, Christine M
  • Elms, Jay
  • Fleming, Porter
  • Irvin, Willis
  • Mackie, Katharine
  • Medical College of Georgia
  • Saunders, Albert
  • Augusta
  • Georgia
  • Porter Fleming House (Augusta, Ga.)
  • Richmond County
  • United States of America
  • Augusta
  • Georgia
  • Porter Fleming House (Augusta, Ga.)
  • Richmond County
  • United States of America
Filter results to a specific time period.
  • 1950s
  • 1960s
  • 1970s
  • 1980s
  • 1990s
  • Archives of American Gardens