United States of America, Mississippi, Adams County, Natchez
Riverview (Natchez, Miss.)
"The site of Riverview once belonged to John Steele, a veteran of the Continental Army, and once acting Governor of the Mississippi Territory. Before Steele, Spanish officials held title to the property (31 acres), including Don Jose Vidal, a high ranking Spanish official, and it later became part of the Don Estavan Minor's estate. The property's history and former high echelon owners probably accounts for the fact the house was not destroyed during the Civil War when one of the boundaries of the Union's Fort McPherson ran through the Riverview property in 1863."
"A structure stood on this site prior to 1841, and this section was incorporated into the main body of the house erected in 1869 by ex Confederate Army Lt. George M. Brown. The original portions are characterized by low ceilings, narrow facings, and wide-stack chimneys. The bricks for the later sections were burned on the premises, and well seasoned cypress and heart-pine timbers were used in the construction. Because of vivid memories of the terrible tornado of 1841, Brown built walls 13 inches thick, with all partitions and outer walls anchored to the foundation. He also had a large cellar built even though the older portion already had a small cellar."
"The house, Riverview, sits on land originally owner by Stephen Minor, an American from Pennsylvania, who was made the last Spanish Governor during Spain's control of this territory. Stephen Minor's home was "Airlie." Both "Riverview" and "Airlie", by reputation, had lovely Camellia Gardens.These were connected by a stone-paved path, making it possible for the occupants of the two houses, at that time enjoy each other's gardens. Today, large camellia bushes are still in place at "Riverview", living reminders of this past history. In the side yard at "Airlie" are remnants of a stone path, boxwoods still growing on either side, with a few scattered camellia bushes growing nearby. The old path now leads only to the interrupting fence of a house which is only one of perhaps three, which are between "Airlie" and "Riverview"."
Some of the 35 mm. slides are closeups of plant material. The seven slides of plant material include snapdragons (Antirrhinum majus); two of waterlies (nyphaea sp.); three of camellias (Theaceae family); and a sweet olive (Osmanthus fragans).
Persons associated with the property include: Don Jose Vidal (Spanish Grandee, late 1700's); Don Estaban Minor (an American in the service of Spain); John Steele (former owner from 1779 to 1841); Mark Breedon (former owner from 1841 to 1846); Charles and Maria Reynolds (former owners from 1846 to 1867); George M. Brown (former owner from 1867 to 1960); John Banks (former owner); Charles and Sandra Harvey (former owners from 1985 to 1988); H. Hal Garner (former owner from 1988 to 1994); and Harold Hawkins (former owner from 1988 to 1994).