United States of America, New York, Nassau County, Oyster Bay, Brookville
New York (State)
Hillwood (Brookville, New York)
This Hillwood was owned by Mr. and Mrs. Edward F. Hutton. After the Hutton's divorce in 1935, Hillwood became the property of Marjorie (formerly Mrs. Hutton) and her second husband Joseph E. Davies. Mrs. E. F. Hutton, after several divorces, was later known as Mrs. Marjorie Merriweather Post. Long Island University bought the property in 1947 to use it as one of their off-campus locations. Classes began in the mansion in 1951. The University then named the property after Marjorie Merriweather Post's father, Charles William Post, to become C. W. Post College. In 1955, Mrs. Post built a separate estate in Washington, DC, and named it "Hillwood." This is now Hillwood Museum and Gardens.
(The Fine Arts Center, located on the college property, was originally owned by Mr. E.F. Hutton, who built it after his divorce from Marjorie. He hired Marian Coffin to design this property as well.)
Persons and organizations associated with this garden include: Mr. and Mrs. William A. Prime (former owners, 1911); Mr. and Mrs. Edward F. Hutton (former owners, 1921-ca.1940); Mr. and Mrs. Joseph E. Davies (former owners); (Marian Coffin (landscape architect, 1921-1929); Charles M. Hart (architect, 1921); Hart & Shape (architects); and Long Island University, C.W. Post College (owners, 1947-present).
Earliest slides are taken from published sources.
The folder includes a worksheet, landscape plans, copies of photographs, and copies of articles and programs.
Garden featured in Town and Country Magazine, June 1, 1926, page 44; "The Quest of the Unusual in Iris," Garden and Home Builder, Volume 43, No. 5, July 1926 p. 463