[Old Town Center] [lantern slide]: view looking northeast of First Parish Church (Unitarian), ca. 1887-88, by Peabody and Stearns, originally landscaped by Charles Eliot
Sears, Thomas Warren 1880-1966
1 lantern slide: glass; 5 x 7 in
United States of America, Massachusetts, Middlesex County, Weston
Old Town Center (Weston, Massachusetts)
In 1912 Arthur Shurliff, landscape architect (1870-1957) was commissioned by the Town to redesign the Town Center. This photograph, one of many in a series, by Thomas Sears precede the ca. 1919 demolition of the Old Town Hall and Cutting's Store associated with that project. For further information see Pamela W. Fox, "Farm Town to Suburb: The History and Architecture of Weston, Massachusetts, 1830 to 1980," Portsmouth, NH: Peter E. Randall, publisher, 2002.
Archives of American Gardens encourages the use of its archival materials for non-commercial, educational and personal use under the fair use provision of U.S. copyright law. Use or copyright restrictions may exist. It is incumbent upon the researcher to ascertain copyright status and assume responsibility for usage. All requests for duplication and use must be submitted in writing and approved by Archives of American Gardens.
Smithsonian Gardens, PO Box 37012, Capital Gallery, Suite 3300, MRC 506, Washington, DC 20013-7012