[Old Town Center] [lantern slide] view looking southwest at Josiah Smith Tavern and Barn, ca. 1757, enlarged 1783. Also referred to as the Jones House, at 358 Boston Post Road
Sears, Thomas Warren 1880-1966
1 lantern slide: glass; 5 x 7 in
United States of America, Massachusetts, Middlesex County, Weston
Old Town Center (Weston, Massachusetts)
In 1912 Arthur Shurliff, landscape architect (1870-1957) was commissioned by the Town to redesign the Town Center. This photograph, one of many in a series, by Thomas Sears precede the ca. 1919 demolition of the Old Town Hall and Cutting's Store associated with that project. For further information see Pamela W. Fox, "Farm Town to Suburb: The History and Architecture of Weston, Massachusetts, 1830 to 1980," Portsmouth, NH: Peter E. Randall, publisher, 2002.