[Miscellaneous Sites in Lexington, Massachusetts] [glass negative]: view of Lexington Common with the First Parish Church in the center as well as an historic marker known as "Pulpit Rock" or "The Stone Pulpit," and a 1795 cannon (purchased for ceremonial use about 1850 and removed from the Common to the Lexington Historical Society in the 1950s)
Sears, Thomas Warren 1880-1966
1 glass negative: b&w ; 5 x 7 in
United States of America, Massachusetts, Middlesex County, Lexington
[between 1900 and 1924]
The marker reads, "Site of the first three meeting houses in Lexington. Built in 1692 when the church was a parish of Cambridge. Built in 1714 on the incorporation of Lexington. Built 17-- Burned 1846. Thus this spot is identified with the town's history for 150 years."