Smithsonian Institution

Search Results

Collections Search Center
1 documents - page 1 of 1

Fort Hill House [lantern slide]

view Fort Hill House [lantern slide] digital asset number 1
Slide manufacturer:
Scott Studios
Creator:
Wood, Willis D., Mrs
Matheson, William J
North Country Garden Club
Landscape Architect:
Shipman, Ellen
Olmsted Brothers
Physical description:
1 photograph : lantern slide, hand-colored ; 3.25 x 4 in
Type:
Lantern slides
Place:
United States of America, New York, Suffolk County, Huntington
New York (State)
Huntington
Date:
1914
1949
[between 1914 and 1949?]
Notes:
Located on site of Tory Revolutionary Fort built by British to protect their ships in Cold Spring Harbor and Oyster Bay. Manor House was built in 1771 and was the headquarters of the Loyalists. The old breastworks remains as well as an iron gate dated 1781. The pair of gingko trees planted by Olmsted are the parents of all those on Long Island. No 35 mm slide. The rose garden was designed by Ellen Shipman.
Mount reads: "Scott Studio, 24 East 55th St., N.Y.C."
Historic plate number: "122."
Historic plate caption: "Mr. William J [text obscured] Rose Garden."
Topic:
Summer
Rose gardens
Standard
Pergolas
Hedges
Local number:
NY100003
Data Source:
Archives of American Gardens

Modify Your Search






or


Narrow By
  • Archival materials
  • Photographs
  • Archival materials
  • Photographs
  • Hedges
  • Pergolas
  • Rose gardens
  • Standard
  • Summer
  • Hedges
  • Pergolas
  • Rose gardens
  • Standard
  • Summer
  • Matheson, William J
  • North Country Garden Club
  • Olmsted Brothers
  • Scott Studios
  • Shipman, Ellen
  • Wood, Willis D., Mrs
  • Matheson, William J
  • North Country Garden Club
  • Olmsted Brothers
  • Scott Studios
  • Shipman, Ellen
  • Wood, Willis D., Mrs
  • Huntington
  • New York
  • New York (State)
  • Suffolk County
  • United States of America
  • Huntington
  • New York
  • New York (State)
  • Suffolk County
  • United States of America
Filter results to a specific time period.
  • 1910s
  • 1940s
  • Archives of American Gardens