1 photograph : lantern slide, hand-colored ; 3.25 x 4 in
United States of America, Georgia, Fulton County, Roswell
[between 1914 and 1949?]
Built in 1842, was formerly known as Dunwody Hall--from the previous owner--and Phoenix Hall--named for being rebuilt after a fire in the late 1840s. The area in front of the house was a combination of lawn and large deciduous shade trees, such as oaks and hickories. The front of the house is approached by either a central path which runs from the front gate to the front door or on the heart-shaped drive. The center path was lined with mimosa trees and is where the house got its name. A formal garden existed on the west side of the house; and shrub planted terraces were located on the east. In 1916, Georgia architect Neel Reid purchased the property and restored it to its original form. The house and grounds are currently a private residence.
Persons associated with the property include: Major John Dunwoody (former owner); General Andrew Jackson Hansell (former owner, 1969); Neel Reid (former owner, 1918); and Hansell family (former owners, 1947).