1 photograph : lantern slide, hand-colored ; 3.25 x 4 in
United States of America, Georgia, Richmond County, Augusta
[between 1914 and 1949?]
The building was erected in 1834, Georgia's first school of medicine. In 1911, the medical college became part of the University of Georgia. The building was deeded to Richmond Academy. Then leased to the Young Men's Library Association. The grounds are maintained by Sandy River Library Association. The grounds are maintained Sand River Garden Club. The old medical college is a fine example of Revival Greek Aarchitecture.
Mount reads: "Edward Van Altena."
Historic plate number: "67."
Historic plate caption: "Georgia - Old medical college - Augusta."
Access to original images by appointment only. Researcher must submit request for appointment in writing. Certain items may be restricted and not available to researchers. Please direct reference inquiries to the Archives of American Gardens: email@example.com