Smithsonian Institution

Search Results

Collections Search Center
1 documents - page 1 of 1

Tell me it's the truth [music]

Ellington, Duke 1899-1974
Physical description:
1 part (photocopy), 36 cm
2 parts (photocopies), 33 cm
16 parts (photocopies), 32 cm
2 copy scores, 32 cm
1 mixed score(s) and/or part(s) (holograph), 32 cm
1 conductor score and/or parts (Published sheet music), 28 cm
2 parts (photocopies), 28 cm
Copy scores
Parts (musical)
Piano vocal scores
Published sheet music
United States
20th century
A short score for an untitled work is also contained in Folder B. An additional part for "Books of the Bible" from "Sacred Concert I" is noted on the verso of a piano vocal score in Folder B. Handwriting and other details have been reported based on the notes of David Berger, Andrew Homzy, Dr. Theodore Hudson, Walter van de Leur, Wayne Shirley, and Dr. Mark Tucker.
Condition: fair, torn, brittle, tape.
20 parts and an indefinite number of scores
Tell me it's the truth is contained in three of twenty two folders for "Sacred concert I" consisting of 15 parts in C Major concert, 3 one page piano vocal scores and 4 parts in Bb Major concert, 1 two page piano vocal score and 1 one page piano vocal score in F Major concert, and 1 part in Db Major concert -- in ink and photocopy -- in unidentified hands (DE, Whaley, others?).
Folder C contains parts in C Major for 5 reeds - alto 1, alto 2, tenor 3, tenor 4, baritone; 4 trumpets - 1/2 (2), 3/4 (2); 3 trombones - 1, 2, 3; bass. Parts for trumpet 1 and trumpet 2 are noted on the same sheet. Parts for trumpet 3 and trumpet 4 are noted on the same sheet.
Folder B contains piano vocal scores. Scores in Bb Major lyrics begin "Tell me it's the truth, tell me it's the truth ...". Scores in F Major lyrics begin "Tell me it's the truth, yes, yes ...".
Folder C contains remaining parts in 3 groupings -- (i) Parts in C Major for 2 trombones - Vince, Chuck. -- (ii) Parts in Bb Major for 1 reed - Paul; 2 trumpets - 1, 4; bass. Parts for Paul, bass appear incomplete. Parts may reflect different arrangements of the piece. -- (iii) Part in Db Major for 1 trumpet - Cootie. -- from the Ruth Ellington Collection.
See more items in:
Ruth Ellington Collection Music Manuscripts (Series 3) 1940-1991
Data Source:
Archives Center - NMAH

Modify Your Search


Narrow By
  • Archival materials
  • Holographs (autographs)
  • Manuscripts (documents)
  • Music
  • Music parts
  • Photocopies
  • Scores
  • Sheet music
  • Archival materials
  • Holographs (autographs)
  • Manuscripts (documents)
  • Music
  • Music parts
  • Photocopies
  • Scores
  • Sheet music
  • Music
  • Ellington, Duke
  • United States
Filter results to a specific time period.
  • 1900s
  • 1910s
  • 1920s
  • 1930s
  • 1940s
  • 1950s
  • 1960s
  • 1970s
  • 1980s
  • 1990s
  • Archives Center - NMAH