Smithsonian Institution

Search Results

Collections Search Center
1 documents - page 1 of 1

On revival day [music]

Robison, Willard
Sisson, Kenn
Physical description:
3 manuscripts, 32 cm
38 copy scores, 32 cm
Copy scores
Parts (musical)
Piano vocal scores
Short scores
United States
20th century
Folder also contains a brief narrative passage apparently intended to introduce the piece. William Grant Still apparently scored several works by Willard Robison in addition to this piece. Handwriting and other details have been reported based on the notes of David Berger, Andrew Homzy, Dr. Theodore Hudson, Walter van de Leur, Wayne Shirley, and Dr. Mark Tucker.
Condition: fair, brittle, tape.
Fifteen page short score dated 1930. Twenty seven page short score dated February 1931. There appear to be numbers from the Duke Ellington Band Book: 86, 93.
36 parts and an indefinite number of scores
On revival day is contained in two folders consisting of 1 fifteen page short score, 1 twenty seven page short score, 1 three page short score, 1 five page piano vocal score, 1 four page piano vocal score and 36 parts in F Major concert -- in ink and pencil -- in unidentified hands (Still, others?).
Folder A contains short scores and parts. Fifteen page short score indicates parts for flute, bass clarinet, trumpet, violins, viola, cello, bass, piano. Twenty seven page short score indicates parts for 2 clarinets, bass clarinet, trumpets, 3 violins, viola, cello, bass, drums, 2 pianos, voice. Lyrics begin "Have you ever seen a church begin to rock ...". Three page short score indicates parts for clarinet, bass clarinet, trumpets, violins, viola, cello, guitar, drums, piano. Score subtitled "Continuity." Parts for 3 reeds - Evans, Brillhart, Feinschmidt; 3 trumpets - A, B, C; 3 violins - A, B, C; viola; cello; bass; percussion; guitar. Parts subtitled "Continuity."
Folder B contains piano vocal scores and parts. Piano vocal score lyrics begin as above. Parts for 4 reeds - flute, clarinet 1, clarinet 2, bass clarinet (2); 5 trumpets - A, B, C, Ferrar, McConville; 5 violins - A, B, C, 1, 2; viola (2); cello (2); bass (2); drums. -- from the Duke Ellington Library.
See more items in:
Duke Ellington Collection Music Manuscripts (Series 1), ca. 1930-1981
Data Source:
Archives Center - NMAH

Modify Your Search


Narrow By
  • Archival materials
  • Manuscripts (documents)
  • Music
  • Music parts
  • Scores
  • Short scores
  • Archival materials
  • Manuscripts (documents)
  • Music
  • Music parts
  • Scores
  • Short scores
  • Music
  • Robison, Willard
  • Sisson, Kenn
  • Robison, Willard
  • Sisson, Kenn
  • United States
Filter results to a specific time period.
  • 1900s
  • 1910s
  • 1920s
  • 1930s
  • 1940s
  • 1950s
  • 1960s
  • 1970s
  • 1980s
  • 1990s
  • Archives Center - NMAH