Smithsonian Institution

Search Results

Collections Search Center
1 documents - page 1 of 1

Georgia on my mind [music]

Carmichael, Hoagy
Gorrell, Stuart
Physical description:
1 manuscript, 32 cm
14 copy scores, 32 cm
Conductor scores
Copy scores
Parts (musical)
Piano vocal scores
United States
20th century
Handwriting and other details have been reported based on the notes of David Berger, Andrew Homzy, Dr. Theodore Hudson, Walter van de Leur, and Dr. Mark Tucker.
Unsigned Strayhorn composition.
Statement of responsibility taken from Popular Music, 1920-1979, ed. Nat Shapiro.
13 parts and an indefinite number of scores
Georgia on my mind is contained in one folder consisting of 1 twenty five page conductor score, 1 four page piano vocal score and 13 parts in F Major concert -- in ink and pencil -- in unidentified hand (Parker?).
Conductor score indicates parts for flute, clarinet, bass clarinet, trumpets, violins, viola, cello, bass, drums, piano. Piano vocal score lyrics begin "Melodies bring memories that linger in my heart ...". Parts for 3 reeds - flute, clarinet, bass clarinet; 3 trumpets - A, B, C; 3 violins - A, B, C; viola; cello; bass; percussion. -- from the Duke Ellington Library.
See more items in:
Duke Ellington Collection Music Manuscripts (Series 1), ca. 1930-1981
Data Source:
Archives Center - NMAH

Modify Your Search


Narrow By
  • Archival materials
  • Manuscripts (documents)
  • Music
  • Music parts
  • Scores
  • Archival materials
  • Manuscripts (documents)
  • Music
  • Music parts
  • Scores
  • Music
  • Carmichael, Hoagy
  • Gorrell, Stuart
  • Carmichael, Hoagy
  • Gorrell, Stuart
  • United States
Filter results to a specific time period.
  • 1900s
  • 1910s
  • 1920s
  • 1930s
  • 1940s
  • 1950s
  • 1960s
  • 1970s
  • 1980s
  • 1990s
  • Archives Center - NMAH