Built by the Jerry O'Mahony Company of Bayonne, N.J., to specifications of Richard Kubach, opened March 18, 1940, in south Philadelphia, Pa. In 1956 Kubach moved his business to a new location. Jim D'Andrea bought the vacant diner in 1959 and moved it to a site on Rt. 130 in Washington Township, Mercer County, N.J., where it operated under a series of managers who leased it from D'Andrea. In this location, the diner was popular with truckers. The restaurant remained in business until 1979, when it was extensively damaged by fire.
This project originally was undertaken by the Museum in connection with the "Material World" exhibition.
Correspondence, advertisements, accounting records, and 19 audio tape interviews documenting the history and operation of Melrose Diner in Philadelphia, Pa.; interviews conducted by oral historian Scott Ellsworth, 1987; and notes written by him.
Melrose Diner Collection, 1938-1988, Archives Center, National Museum of American History
Unrestricted research use on site, by appointment. Original tape recordings unavailable to researchers; user copies must be used