Fisher, Bruce & Company, importers of china, earthenware, and glassware, were located on Market Street, Philadelphia. The firm dates to 1880, when it was known as Atherholt, Fisher and Company, at 519 Market Street. By 1885 the company's name changed to Fisher, Son & Company. By 1889, after George H. Ruth joined the firm, its name changed to Fisher, Son & Ruth. The following year, probably after the death of Samuel Fisher, Worthington Bruce joined the firm, and its name was changed to Fisher, Bruce & Company; in the same year the firm relocated to 221 Market Street. The company stayed in the Fisher family for the remainder of its existence, with E. Monroe Fisher as President, from 1930. In the 1970s the company was sold and the business relocated to New Jersey.
Primarily catalog pages and price lists for china, earthenware, and glassware imported from Belgium, Britain, France, and Italy, and some American ceramics. Catalog pages consist of color photographs of numbered ceramic items; the price lists are separate pages keyed to the numbers. These records, 1939-1940, are arranged in separate folders by nationality.
U.S. catalog pages : china breakfast sets and other tableware. Also: photoprint of the firm's building, ca. 1920s, and a photoprint of a 1920s display of Pyrex ovenware in a building display window.
Belgian material : one catalog page of glassware.
British catalog pages : Aynsley bone china (breakfast and tea sets), Grimwades earthenware, and "Toby" mugs of U.S. General McArthur and British General Wavell.
French catalog pages : "Quimper" design faience and other china and earthenware pieces.
Italian ceramics : primarily earthernware breakfast sets, bowls, baskets, vases, and donkey figures; also some Venetian glassware.
Fisher, Bruce & Company Records, Archives Center, National Museum of American History