Design for a new facade to the old Parliament Buildings, Toronto, supposed to be erected A.D. 1875, (painting)
Howard, J. G.
Appears in exhibition catalog as entry no. 138
The Buildings consist of Reform and Conservative Club-Houses on either side of the great centre Building. The centre Building comprises both Houses of Parliament, with all the necessary Committee-Rooms and Offices, Retiring Rooms, &c. &c.; the centre Portico is surmounted by a lofty Attic, to be fitted up for a Library, Museum, and Picture-Gallery to receive the Portraits of Members, &c., &c., &c. The two Buildings at the extreme ends are arranged for Free Mason's and Old Fellows' Halls, also large Lecture-Rooms and Banqueting-Halls for all the different Societies. The cost of erection would be about L. 150,000. John G. Howard, Architect. [P. 11.]
Toronto Society of Arts: Second Exhibition, 1848. Open from nine o'clock in the morning until dusk. Admittance for Each Person, One Shilling and Three Pence; Season Tickets, during the exhibition, Five Shillings; Children under Twelve Years of Age, Half Price. Catalogues Seven Pence Half-penny. Vivat Regina.
Artist professional affiliation: Toronto Society of Arts.