"Palace of the Doge's, Venice. 19 x 13. On the left is the Royal Palace. The church of St. Mark is in the background, and the ducal palace occupies the right of the painting. The view is that of the south front toward the Molo, which is which is 234 feet in length. The depth of the building is 245 feet. The first of the palaces which have been built on this site, was erected in a.d. 800. They have been destroyed five times, and as often re-erected. The present structure, in the Venetian- Gothic style, is about 500 years old."
A Catalogue of Paintings in the Gallery of D.W. Powers, Rochester, N.Y. with Explanations and Sketches of Painters by C.C. Merriman. Rochester, N.Y.: E.R. Andrews, Book and Job Printer, Aqueduct Street, 1877.
Artist nationality: Italian.
Artist address: Church and Island of St. George, Venice.