"Church of the Salute, Venice. 18 x 12. This church, called San maria della salute, situated on the eastern extremity of the grand canal, nearly opposite the Royal Palace, was built in 1632 under the architect Longhena, out of gratitude to the holy virgin for deliverance from the plagues which had scourged Venice. It contains a beautiful marble group of the virgin banishing the demons of the plague." (see serial 04120256 for commentary on artist)
A Catalogue of Paintings in the Gallery of D.W. Powers, Rochester, N.Y. with Explanations and Sketches of Painters by C.C. Merriman. Rochester, N.Y.: E.R. Andrews, Book and Job Printer, Aqueduct Street, 1877.