North-east View of the Provincial Lunatic Asylum, now erecting in Toronto, (painting)
Howard, J. G.
Appears in exhibition catalog as entry no. 188
From the designs of John G. Howard, Architect, to be completed in 1848, and will accommodate three hundred patients, with the necessary officers. The contour of the building is governed by the internal arrangement; in the dome is a reservoir for supplying the building with water. In the distance, on the right, is the Military Cemetery, with an obelisk in memory of Tecumseth, or with medallions to the memory of all the gallant officers who fought and bled in this country. J.G. Howard, Architect. [P. 12.]
Toronto Society of Arts: First Exhibition, 1847. Open from nine o'clock in the morning until dusk. Admittance for each Person, one Shilling and Threepence; Season Tickets, during the exhibition, Three Shillings and Ninepence; Children under Twelve Years of Age, Half Price. Catalogues Sevenpence Halfpenny each. Vivat Regina.
Artist professional affiliation: Toronto Society of Arts.