The house was built by Jacobus Kip, Secretary to the Council, in 1641, with bricks imported from Holland. The picture is taken from an engraving, published by the corporation of New York, in one of their manuals, representing it as it appeared in 1670. When the Americans held the city, it was for a time Washington's head quarters. The British troops under Sir William Howe landed on the rocks in front of the house, Sunday, September 15th, 1776, and after a skirmish with the Americans, it was seized by the British, and for several years, was occupied successively by Sir W. Clinton, Lord Percy, Knyphausen, and the traitor Arnold. In September, 1780, a dinner was given here by Col. Williams of the 80th Regiment, to Sir Wm. Clinton and suite, as a compliment to Major Andre, the evening before he set out to meet Arnold. It was his last dinner in New-York, and in ten days he was executed. The corporation, a few years since, ordered this house, at that time the oldest on the island, to be taken down, to open Thirty-Fifth Street, on the line of which it stood. [P. 13.]
Albany Gallery of the Fine Arts, Incorporated 1846. Catalogue of the Fourth Exhibition. 1849. Albany: Printed by Charles Van Benthuysen. 1849.