Jamison Thomas Gallery records, 1940-2000, bulk 1980-1995
Jamison Thomas Gallery (Portland, Or.)
Diakité, Baba Wagué
Jamison, William Robert
Van Sant, Gus
Folk Craft Gallery (Portland, Or.)
Place of publication, production, or execution:
27.3 linear feet
Access Note / Rights:
Use of original papers requires an appointment and is available in the Archives' Washington, D.C. research facility. Contact Reference Services for more information.
The Jamison Thomas Gallery records measure 27.3 linear feet and date from 1940-2000, with the bulk of the records dating from 1980-1995, reflecting the years the Gallery operated in Portland, Oregon. About 1/2 of the records consist of artists' files of artists represented by the gallery and artists of interest. Also found are administrative records, client and collector files, financial and legal records, exhibition files, and publicity files.
Jamison Thomas Gallery records, 1940-2000, bulk 1980-1995. Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution.
Funding for the processing of this collection was provided by the Smithsonian Institution's Collections Care and Preservation Fund.
Jamison Thomas Gallery opened in Portland, Oregon in 1980 as the Folk Craft Gallery founded by William Jamison and Jeffrey Thomas. The gallery changed its focus and name in 1985 and began to specialize in contemporary photography, sculpture, and textile arts. Jamison Thomas Gallery closed in 1995, after William Jamison died from complications with AIDS.
Donated 2001 by Charles Froelick, director of the Jamison Thomas Gallery.
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, 750 9th St. NW, Washington, D.C. 20001