Wilbur H. Burnham Studios records, circa 1904-1991
Wilbur H. Burnham Studios
Burnham, Jr., Wilbur Herbert
Connick, Charles J.
Portanova, Joseph Domenico
Burnham, Wilbur Herbert
Reynolds, Joseph G.
Stained Glass Association of America
American Art Expositions (New York, N.Y.)
Joseph G. Reynolds Associates
Reynolds, Francis, and Rohnstock
Place of publication, production, or execution:
35.2 linear feet
1 rolled doc.
Access Note / Rights:
Use of original papers requires an appointment and is limited to the Archives' Washington, D.C., Research Center. Contact Reference Services for more information.
The records of nationally renowned Boston, Mass. stained glass design company, Wilbur H. Burnham Studios, measure 35.1 linear feet and date from circa 1904-1991. The majority of the collection consists of project files for the studio's stained glass window contracts throughout the United States from the 1920s-1980s. In addition to project files, records include biographical material for the owners, correspondence relating to personal and studio business, general business and financial records, writings such as published articles by Wilbur H. Burnham, scrapbooks and other printed material documenting the history of the company, artwork including extensive watercolor design studies for stained glass, and photographic material.
Wilbur H. Burnham Studios records, circa 1904-1991. Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution.
Funding for the processing of this collection was provided by the Terra Foundation for American Art.
Wilbur H. Burnham Studios (founded 1922) is a stained glass design firm out of Boston, Wakefield, and Rowley, Mass. Wilbur H. Burnham, Sr., along with Charles J. Connick and Joseph G. Reynolds, comprised a triumvirate of nationally prominent stained-glass designers in Boston, and from the 1920s-1960s, the firm was among the most prominent in the nation.
The Wilbur H. Burnham Studios records were donated in 7 accesions by Wilbur H. Burnham, Jr., from 1977-1981 and by Wilbur C. Burnham, grandson of the founder, in 1990-1991. Scott McDaniel, co-owner of the firm, contributed to the 1990 donation.
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, 750 9th St. NW, Washington, D.C. 20001