Use of original papers requires an appointment and is limited to the Archives' Washington, D.C., Research Center. Contact Reference Services for more information.
The records of the Doll and Richards gallery of Boston measure 82.7 linear feet and date from 1863 to 1978, with the bulk of the material dating from 1902-1960s. Extensive financial and sales records, inventory records, and correspondence and letter books provide a detailed account of the business operations and sales of the gallery. Also found are notes and research files on artists and paintings, business and legal records, exhibition catalogs, six exhibition scrapbooks, printed materials, and photographs. The bulk of the collection dates from 1902 when the gallery was incorporated and new books were begun. According to gallery employee Wendell Zoehler, many records from the 19th century were discarded and periodically, especially when the gallery moved, other records were discarded.
Doll & Richards records, 1863-1973, bulk 1902-1973. Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution.
Portions of the collection are available on 35 mm microfilm reels 350-368 (letterpress copybooks) and NDR1-NDR4 (exhibition catalogs) at Archives of American Art offices, and through interlibrary loan. The arrangement of the materials on microfilm may differ from the current arrangement.
Funding for the processing of this collection was provided by the Smithsonian Institution's Collections Care Fund.
A daguerroteype of Gaetano Cardinal Bedini received with the records was transferred to the Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery on May 24, 2004.
Among the other resources relating to the Doll and Richards gallery in the Archives of American Art is an oral history interview with Wendell Zoehler conducted by Robert Brown on April 14 and April 27, 1978.
Doll & Richards (established 1866) is an art gallery in Boston, Massachusetts. Originated 1866, incorporated 1902. Sold to Arthur McKean in 1941, then to Maurice Goldberg in 1962, finally sold to Jeanne and Paul Sylva in 1973.
The Doll and Richards records were donated to the Archives of American Art in numerous accessions between 1973 and 1979 by Jeanne and Paul Sylva, who purchased the gallery in 1973, and by former employee Wendell Zoehler.
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, 750 9th St. NW, Washington, D.C. 20001