The Archives of American art does not own the original papers. Use is limited to the microfilm copy.
9 bound scrapbooks containing: newspaper and magazine clippings and publicity statements from 1965-1980; press releases from July 1976-August 1977; exhibition catalogs; meeting minutes, membership lists, resumes and receipts.
Laguna Gloria Art Museum records, 1965-1980. Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution.
Microfilm rolls 2902-2903 available at the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, and through interlibrary loan.
Location of Originals:
Originals in The Laguna Gloria Art Museum 3809 West 35th Street, P.O. Box 5568, Austin, TX, 78763.
The Laguna Gloria Art Museum has its origins in the Texas Fine Arts Association, which was founded in 1911 "to encourage the advancement of art in Texas and to increase the possibilities of art experience for its communities and its people." In 1943 Clara Driscoll Seiver deeded her home to the TFAA, specifying that it should become a museum of modern art. It was named The Laguna Gloria Art Museum. In 1961, the museum broke away from the TFAA and became independent.
The Laguna Gloria Art Museum papers were lent by the museum for microfilming.
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, 750 9th St. NW, Washington, D.C. 20001