Use of original papers requires an appointment and is limited to the Archives' Washington, D.C., Research Center. Contact Reference Services for more information.
The records of contemporary New York City Tanager Gallery measure 2.6 linear feet and date from 1952 to 1979. Found are administrative files, financial and legal records, including detailed receipt books, scattered correspondence, artists' files for circa 70 artists, that include price lists and biographies, two scrapbooks of printed materials, newsclippings, exhibition announcements and other printed materials, and five photographs of openings at the gallery and of the exterior of the building.
Tanager Gallery records, 1952-1979. Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution.
Funding for the processing of this collection was provided by the Terra Foundation for American Art.
Among the holdings of the Archives of American Art are the Lois Dodd papers, 1952-2001 and an oral history interview with Lois Dodd by Barbara Shikler from 1988.
Tanager Gallery (founded 1952; closed 1962) was an art gallery in New York, N.Y. Operated on E. 10th St., 1952-1962 as a cooperative outlet for a group of New York artists, primarily abstract expressionists. The founding members were Lois Dodd, Charles Cajori, Angelo Ippolito, William King and Fred Mitchell.
Lois Dodd, co-founder of the Tanager Gallery, donated the Tanager Gallery records in several increments between 1972 and 1989.
Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution, 750 9th St. NW, Washington, D.C. 20001